Blue Light Patrol Car Close Up

Our Organisation

Merseyside Police is the regional police force responsible for policing Merseyside in North West England. The force area is 647 square kilometres with a population of around 1.5 million.

Although our headquarters are based in central Liverpool, Merseyside Police is divided into five local policing area, one in each of the metropolitan boroughs that make up Merseyside. The local policing areas are:

  • Liverpool
  • Sefton
  • Wirral
  • St Helens
  • Knowsley

For more detailed information about us as an organisation, please select one of the links from the menu on the left, or visit the Your Area section to view your local policing information.